Janis Ramquist, Yoga Instructor

Gentle Hatha Yoga

Janis Ramquist

Raleigh, NC


Janis Ramquist
2208 Oxford Hill Dr.
Raleigh, NC 27608

Voice 919/831-9316
Fax 919/833-1464




I. RAJA YOGA – Meditation
Quiet the mind to promote spiritual growth
Strict adherence to the Eight Limbs of Yoga

II. KARMA YOGA - Service
Based on belief – what we experience today was caused by past actions and attitudes
Consciously creating a future that is positive, purposeful & wholesome by our actions & attitudes today
Dedication of all actions to God/ Higher Cause.
Selfless service from our “overflow”/generosity not as martyrs.
Mother Teresa

Doing anything with whole heart & love

  • Honors the Divine and brings out the best in you –

  • Talking to God, prayer, singing, spontaneous self-expression

  • Life Affirming

  • Positive ways to channel emotions

  • Seeing God/Good in all

  • Opportunities to cultivate acceptance/forgiveness/tolerance for self & all

  • Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr.


  • Study of self, scriptures, nature, & God

  • Self-reflection, contemplation

  • Self inquiry “may our intellect grow clear and bright”

  • Discriminate what is true & permanent from false

  • Allow higher consciousness to teach me

  • Who Am I?

  • Sages, Jesuit priests, Benedictine monks, Kabalistic scholars

V. TANDRA YOGA – Ceremony & Rituals

  • Honoring Divine in all by creating a ceremony

  • Japanese Tea Ceremony, Grace, Eucharist Mass

  • Consecrated sexual practices

EIGHT LIMBS from The Yoga Sutras – steps to living a meaningful life

1) Yama - The first limb of yoga delineates ethical standards and a sense of integrity, focusing on behavior. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

  • Ahimsa – non-violence

  • Satya – truthfulness that will benefit the community

  • Asteya – non-stealing

  • Brahmacarya – moderation, sexual integrity

  • Aparigraha – non-covetousness, non-greed

  • Niyama – Self discipline & spiritual observances

  • Saucha – cleanliness, internal purity

  • Santosa – contentment

  • Tapas – spiritual disciplines, helping others without expectation of something in return

  • Svadhyaya – study of sacred scriptures and of self

  • Isvara pranidhana – surrender to God

2) Hatha - Asana - The Postures. The body is seen as the temple of the spirit, the care of which is an important part of our spiritual growth. We develop physical well-being, emotional balance, the habit of discipline and the ability to focus and concentrate.
3) Pranayama – Breath control. Recognition of connection between breath, the mind and the emotions. “Life force extension” – rejuvenates the body/mind and extends life. One can practice various breathing techniques designed to gain mastery over the respiratory process as a practice by itself or integrate it into a regular asana practice.
4) Pratyahara Drawing focus away from external stimuli. Becoming keenly aware of, yet cultivating a detachment from, our physical senses. Objectively observe our cravings and unhealthy habits. Self-observance brings awareness, compassion and the spiritual strength to make healthy changes.

5) Dharana – Concentration. Slowing down thinking process by focusing on a single, mental object. These could be the silent repetition of a sound, visualizing a holy image or focusing on a specific part of the body. In asana and pranayama our attention moves around. In pratyahara we become self-observant. Now, in dharana we focus our attention on a single point. Extended periods of concentration naturally lead to the experience of meditation.
6) Dhyana – Meditation of Contemplation. No longer one pointed focus, but a state of being keenly aware without focus. The mind has been quieted, and in the stillness it produces few or no thoughts at all.
7) Samadhi– State of ecstatic bliss. The practitioner realizes a profound connection to the Divine, interconnectedness with all living things. The “peace that passeth all understanding” is experienced. Joy, fulfillment and peace.


Located in Raleigh, NC - Gentle Hatha Yoga